Egg goes South.. and the most miserable driver in the world

Kaiteriteri (wed 15th-fri 17th)

From darkness to light… SUNSHINE! I have never been so happy to see sunshine. Neither have I ever been so happy to get off a boat as I felt really quite sick.


My mood also quickly went south as we met our new driver, Rik, who greeted us with essence of armpit and seemed to think he was a school teacher as he complained that people were making too much noise. It’s a no from me Rik.


When we finally arrived at Kaiteriteri we discovered, much to my disappointment, that the other bus driver had taken them to a winery! Meanwhile our driver had sat and lectured us that the hostel is a dry hostel and then further complained about how people had taken alcohol on the bus and that he could get fined. SNORE. Settle down Rik. 

Stop off at some hobbit bridge or something

Kaiteriteri is just next to the Abel Tasman National Park so Thursday morning we jetted over by boat to Torrent Bay. Unlike the others who did a 4 hour route, I just did a 2.5 hour walk to Bark Bay then got the boat back by myself and then laid on the beach for the afternoon. 100% made the right choice! Little egg was worn out and needed a nap and ice cream. Yum. 

Abel Tasman national park
Split apple rock and some cuteeee seals

As Kirsty, Lucy and I did an extra night in Wellington and an extra night in Abel Tasman we pretty much had a new bus of people by this point. After some shark and chips on the beach (yep, shark), some guys invited us to their room for a few cheeky drinking games and shell breaking. (The bar was so expensive, no funny business mum!)

Leave a comment